Driver IRQL not less or equal (bridge.sys)

I experienced an annoying issue on my Windows 8 laptop. All of a sudden the laptop got a blue screen showing a text.

Your PC ran into a problem and needs to restart. We’re just collecting some error info, and then we’ll restart for you.

Driver IRQL not less or equal (brdige.sys)

I had no idea what could be causing this. My laptop was running for many months without any issues. Now all of a sudden a couple of crashes in one hour.

Using Google I found out it could be related to Hyper-V which was installed. So I started Hyper-v Manager , selected Virtual switch manager and deleted the switch which was connected to the wireless network adapter.

Problem solved.

I did not try to solve the problem by installing new drivers as I was not using the Wifi nic.

About Marcel van den Berg
I am a technical consultant with a strong focus on server virtualization, desktop virtualization, cloud computing and business continuity/disaster recovery.

Leave a Reply

